Internationally Best-Selling Author of Murder Mystery Novels

Internationally Best-Selling Author of Murder Mystery Novels

Internationally Best-Selling Author of Murder Mystery NovelsInternationally Best-Selling Author of Murder Mystery NovelsInternationally Best-Selling Author of Murder Mystery Novels

Mystery Comes to Deep Creek Lake

Murder Hits the Shores of Deep Creek Lake!


"If you are looking to start a great murder mystery series, look no further. I can see why Carr has a loyal fan base that eagerly await her next novels. I know that I can always expect a diversity of characters, murder cases and lovable pets in any of her series. These are fun books to escape with and are sure to please die-hard mystery fans." - Laura Fabiani, Library of Clean Reads

Murder hit the shores of Deep Creek Lake like a hurricane when Mac Faraday blew into Spencer, Maryland, in his red sports car in Lauren Carr's best-selling Mac Faraday Mysteries. 

Lauren Carr's hit mystery series features Mac Faraday.  

Mac Faraday leaves the courtroom where his cheating wife won everything in their divorce with his mind on filing bankruptcy the next day. When he is chased down by another attorney, he wants nothing to do with him. That is, until this lawyer tells him he has just inherited $270 million from the woman who gave him up for adoption at birth.  That woman, Robin Spencer, was a famous–and wealthy—author of murder mysteries--America's answers to Agatha Christie.

Naturally this begins a lifestyle change for the dedicated, effective homicide detective.

In It’s Murder, My Son, fans meet the retired homicide detective as he arrives at Spencer Manor on the shores of Deep Creek Lake to tackle his first murder mystery. (He prefers solving murder mysteries to playing golf.)

Since then, mystery-lovers have been on a roller coaster of adventure sifting through one clue after another in trying to uncover who-done-it. From the mysterious murder of the mobster out for revenge to the brutal slaying of the wannabe reality star to the mayoral election that goes to the dogs after Gnarly the German shepherd enters the race, each unique storyline grabs and pulls readers in to enjoy the ride.  

The Series The Started It All!


 Her storylines are unique in each and every book and amazingly grabs and pulls readers into each and every word she writes. You are missing a great writer if you don't read Lauren Carr! Highly Recommended!"  Glenda Bixler, Book Reader's Heaven

"She is an amazing author that draws you into the story, makes you fall in love with the characters (they feel like family!) and keeps you guessing right to the very end." Review by The Working Mommy Journal

While each of Lauren Carr's books is written as a stand alone, (meaning no drama among the continuing characters spilling from one installment to another) many readers have insisted on reading the books in the order they were written. For those readers, or new ones who want to start at the beginning, here is a list of the Mac Faraday Mysteries in order:

1) It's Murder, My Son

2) Old Loves Die Hard

3) Shades of Murder (introduces the Lovers in Crime: Joshua Thornton & Cameron Gates)

4) Blast from the Past

5) The Murders at Astaire Castle

6) The Lady Who Cried Murder (The Lovers in Crime make a guest appearance )

7) Twelve to Murder

8) A Wedding and a Killing 

9) Three Days to Forever  (This is the Mac Faraday mystery that launched the Thorny Rose detectives.)

10) Open Season for Murder 

11) Cancelled Vows

12) Candidate for Murder (The Thorny Rose detectives make a guest appearance.

13) Crimes Past

Twofer Murder (A Mystery Novel) includes all of the series character. This novel was released after A Candidate for Murder, before Crimes Past.

Note: Many of the series characters cross over into Lauren's other series. Readers and Reviewers have delighted with these appearances. Got to Lauren Carr's page to view the complete list to follow the Faraday-Thornton extended family.

Get the Mac Faraday 12-Pack Now!


Lauren Carr’s Murder on Deep Creek mega-box set is a mystery lover’s fantasy—perfect for a weekend of binge reading! Take the phone off the hook and make yourself a big bowl of popcorn! Once you download Murder on Deep Creek, you will not want to put Mac Faraday down until you finish!
If you’re a fan of thriller, cold case, mystery suspense, and police procedural, you’re going to love Lauren Carr’s Murder on Deep Creek--all of these exciting genres rolled into one exciting mega-box set—twelve mysteries in all!

Get Started On Mac Faraday Mysteries Today!

The vendors listed on this website are only some of the many booksellers who carry Lauren Carr's mysteries. If your bookseller is not listed, contact and ask them to order her titles.